Managed Applications is blank after installing from community repo

This forum is for the discussions and support for the Chocolatey For Automate plugin. Inside you will find the Documentation Project forum that describes the operation of the plugin.
Post Reply
calvinv
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2022 3:56 pm

Managed Applications is blank after installing from community repo

Post by calvinv »

I have a system that I installed Adobe Reader from the Community Repo.
The problem is that Adobe Reader does not show up under Managed Applications after installing it.
I tried a scan on the location client but this yielded no results.

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
6
Contact:

Re: Managed Applications is blank after installing from community repo

Post by Cubert »

The plugin uses the scripting services of Automate to send different requests to Chocolatey. In the case of packages installed and scans you should see the command sent to chocolatey exe and what it returned.

When you run a version scan we go to the agent and execute a "choco list --local" which spits out all packages and their versions that Chocolatey has installed and has record of. Whether it was installed manually or through plugin, from cache or the public repo. So all packages chocolatey can manage should be listed. Is adobe in that list returned from agent? See script and command log outputs to confirm what the plugin is receiving.

Anytime you select a function from our menu you can expect that there will be either a scheduled script in the script logs or a command in the command logs of the agent or location in question.

So if you select to do a version scan, you should see the agent or client as a whole start executing a script that was passed some command. If you are not getting what you thing you should be seeing then while preforming a function have the agent console up and follow along the logs as they churn out the process.

See what is being returned as raw data. If you find an issue that you do not understand then post the log data and screenshots of what you were doing at the time so we can look at the problem and assist.

calvinv
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2022 3:56 pm

Re: Managed Applications is blank after installing from community repo

Post by calvinv »

By script and command log outputs, do you mean the ones located within Automate?

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
6
Contact:

Re: Managed Applications is blank after installing from community repo

Post by Cubert »

Yeap,

Agent console -> Scripts
Any logs for script or plugin in question

Agent console -> commands
Any logs that show that the script executed something. Same time stamp, time frame

If this is an automated service then the logs from the server also
C:\Program Files\LabTech\Logs\Plugin_ChocolateyForAutomate.txt

Post Reply

Return to “Chocolatey For Automate”