"A connection attempt failed..."

This forum supports the ESX Host Health Monitor plugin. When posting post screenshots of issues and any script and command logs listed in the probe consoles.
Post Reply
p4a-at
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:07 pm

"A connection attempt failed..."

Post by p4a-at »

I haven't had to troubleshoot this plugin much so this could be a very easy issue ( or not):

We have four ESXi servers at a client (all running 6.7). Two of the four receive the error the probe is unable to connect to the servers. I was notified of this today so I don't know how long this has gone on.

I checked the probe's local python directory but didn't see any log files which may explain the error. The Automate server log directory has a log file for the plugin but only states it's running. Pings from the probe to the servers are successful. I don't know if there are other methods of connecting to simulate the probe.

How can i troubleshoot this error?

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 1522
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: "A connection attempt failed..."

Post by Cubert »

Here is how to test probes manually

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=5532&sid=840da3f33 ... 9fb4077590


Some times ESX's CIM services takes a crap and the ESX host needs a reboot or reset to fix it. It may be administratively disabled, see http://www.squidworks.net/2017/02/vmwar ... y-default/

Or it coiuld be an issue with probe agent. Try to assign that ESX to a different probe, running 2 probes at same time for same location . See if that resolves any issues.

Post back what you find..

p4a-at
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: "A connection attempt failed..."

Post by p4a-at »

Thanks for the info. I learned something new...but unfortunately the answer was extremely simple: the hosts were offline. I was told they were online and returning pings (which brings up other questions).

Post Reply